Announcement of Pembrokeshire Sport Awards nominations



The wait is over and the nominations for the 2021 Sport Pembrokeshire Awards have been revealed!

A total of 80 nominations were received in 12 categories for individuals and teams involved in a variety of different sports across the county.

The three finalists in each category will be announced on November 17th. The big winners will be announced at the ceremony at Folly Farm on November 26, hosted by Sport Pembrokeshire.

Clr. Paul Miller, Cabinet Member for Economics, Tourism, Leisure and Culture, thanked everyone who submitted an application and said the level of applications was once again very high.

“We are truly delighted that so many people have taken the time to nominate individuals and teams from our sport community to be recognized in the Pembrokeshire Sport Awards,” he said.

“The awards are a fantastic opportunity to celebrate the hard work and achievements of local athletes, coaches and volunteers and we look forward to having a great evening.

The nominations are as follows (some people / teams have received more than one nomination):

Young Volunteer of the Year – 1. Carys Ribbon and Jess Raymond; 2. Leïla Egelstaff; 3. Ffion Williams (Haverfordwest Seals); 4. Olivia Probert; 5. Adèle Bevan.

Club Organizer – 1. Trevor and Becki Badham and Colin Evans (Cricket); 2. Brian Millard (sports handicap); 3. Sean Hannon (Cricket); 4. Gareth Bennett (swimming); 5. Naomi Dalton (Boxing).

Senior Team – 1. Cresselly Women’s Cricket Team; 2. Neyland Cricket Club First Team; 3. Saundersfoot Bowls Club Oven Team over 55 years old.

Junior Team – 1. Haverfordwest Artistic Gymnastics; 2. The SIAB Pembrokeshire Harriers team; 3. St. Ismaël U11 Cricket Club; 4. Haverfordwest RFC U9.

Unsung Hero – 1. Jamie Phelps (Cricket); 2. Lauren Watts (Tumbling); 3. Nick Daley (Cricket); 4. Stuart Tyrie (Ju Jitsu); 5. Lukas Gamble (Football); 6. Fee Shiels (Gymnastics); 7. Richard Arthur (Cricket); 8. Martin and Celt Edwards; 9. Jenny Harries and Kelly Griffiths (Athletics); 10. Brian Millard (sports handicap); 11. Gareth Bennett (Haverfordwest Seals); 12. Ian Duncan (boxing); 13. Simon Gardiner (Rugby); 14. Sarah Keogh (Tennis); 15. Dorian Howells (Rugby); 16. Simon Morgan (Soccer).

Sports Award for People with Disabilities Р1. Sian Jones (Boccia); 2. L̩on Davies (Cricket); 3. Libi Phillips (Wheelchair Basketball); 4. Michael Jenkins (shooting and discus).

Girls U16 – 1. Jessica Shiels (Gymnastics); 2. Gracie Griffiths (Athletics); 3. Josie Hawke (Surf); 4. Lucy Wintle (Athletics).

Boys U16 – 1. Alistair Dyer (Hockey); 2. Dafydd Pawlett (Tir); 3. TJ Edwards; 4. Owen Rickard (Rugby); 5. Joe Phillips (Cricket).

Male achievement – 1. Euan Dyer (hockey); 2. Stephen Varney (Rugby); 3. Joe Phillips (Cricket).

Female directing – 1. Sanna Duthie (running); 2. Lisa Neumann (Rugby); 3. Valerie Coleman (rowing).

Club of the Year – 1. Pembroke Dock Cricket Club; 2. Saundersfoot runners; 3. Haverfordwest Gymnastics Club; 4. Pembrokeshire Triathlon Club; 5. Neyland Cricket Club; 6. Pembrokeshire Harrier; 7. Cresselly Cricket Club; 8. Fishguard and Goodwick Rowing Club; 9. Haverfordwest Tennis Club; 10. Pembroke Boxing Club and Pembroke Dock; 11. Vikings of Pembrokshire

Coach of the Year – 1. Chris McEwen (boxing); 2. Jonathan Lewis (Cricket); 3. Simon Morgan (Football); 4. Ryan Thomas (swimming); 5. Daisy Griffiths (Gymnastics); 6. Cresselly Junior Cricket Coaches; 7. Graham Brockway (boxing); 8. Andrew Jones (Gymnastics); 9. Nadine Tyrell (H’west Gymnastics); 10. Wayne Griffiths (Harriers); 11. Lowri Jones (Dance); 12. Jane Calveley (H’west Gymnastics); 13. Finola Findlay (Dance); 14. Simon Lewis (Harriers); 15. Simon Roach (weightlifting); 16. Simon Gardiner (Rugby); 17. Sam Feneck (Crossfit Pembrokeshire).

add a comment



About Author

Leave A Reply