Seely elected to the World Committee of Triathlon Athletes, 8 US representatives now in leadership positions



COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – Allysa Seely (Glendale, Arizona) was elected to the World Triathlon Athletes Committee on November 4 as one of 10 athletes responsible for ensuring that the athlete’s perspective remains at the heart of World Triathlon decisions.

With Seely’s election to the Athletes Committee, the United States has eight members holding positions on the World Triathlon Executive Council, Committees and Tribunal – the most of any country. The United States also leads all nations with six committee members and five women in leadership positions.

Seely, who is serving his first term on the Athletes’ Committee, focuses on Paratriathlon awareness and competition and the pursuit of equity in the Olympic and Paralympic aspects of triathlon. Seely aims to meet the needs of all athletes and seeks to work with World Triathlon to introduce mixed relay competition to Paratriathlon.

Seely won Paralympic gold medals at the Rio de Janeiro 2016 and Tokyo 2020 Paralympic Games, making her the only female double Paralympic gold medalist. Seely is three-time Paratriathlon World Champion (2015, 2016, 2018) and two-time Paratriathlon Silver Medalist (2017, 2019). She served on the United States Triathlon Athlete Advisory Board for seven years and the United States Triathlon Board of Directors for two years. Through her tenure in leadership positions with USA Triathlon, Seely has advised USA Triathlon on relevant topics such as SafeSport, Compliance and Operation Gold.

The representatives of the United States on the Executive Committee, Committees and Courts of World Triathlon:

  • World Triathlon Executive Committee: Gabriela Gallegos (El Paso, Texas)
  • Athlete Committee: Allysa Seely (Glendale, Arizona)
  • Legal and Constitutional Committee: Gale Bernhardt (Loveland, Colorado)
  • Audit Committee: Victoria Brumfield (Colorado Springs, Colorado)
  • Medical and Anti-Doping Committee: Dr Doug Hiller (Colfax, Washington)
  • Paratriathlon Commission: Christine Palmquist (Geneva, Ill.)
  • Multisport committee: Tim Yount (Colorado Springs, Colorado)
  • World Triathlon Tribunal: Judge Jones (Orleans, Massachusetts)

The Athletes Committee is made up of 10 athletes from 10 countries. In accordance with the current constitution of the World Triathlon, the committee is made up of five athletes of each gender, at least one member from each of the five continents, two para-triathletes with one from each gender and eight elite athletes with four from each. sex.

Visit for a full recap of the elections.

About USA Triathlon

USA Triathlon is proud to serve as the national governing body for triathlon, as well as duathlon, aquathlon, aquabike, winter triathlon, offroad triathlon, and paratriathlon in the United States. Founded in 1982, USA Triathlon sanctions over 4,300 events and connects with over 400,000 members each year, making it the largest multi-sport organization in the world. In addition to its local work with athletes, coaches and race directors – as well as the USA Triathlon Foundation – USA Triathlon provides leadership and support to elite athletes competing in international events, including the World Championships. world of triathlon, the Pan American Games and the Olympic and Paralympic Games. USA Triathlon is proud to be a member of the World Triathlon and the United States Olympic and Paralympic Committee (USOPC).



About Author

Comments are closed.